Frequently Asked Questions

Troubleshooting

I'm not getting push notifications


Sorry to hear that. Please make sure you have enabled push notifications for thready. You can check this by going to your phone's Settings and tapping on thready towards the bottom. If you're using thready on multiple devices, the device that most recently used thready will get push notifications. In the future, all of your devices will get push notifications. If you're still having issues, please let us know here.




Still have an issue?


If you're still having an issue or have questions, please contact us here.





General

How are my messages stored?


Messages are encrypted and securely stored in the cloud using industry certified Google technology. If you lose your phone, you won’t lose your chats or threads - they’ll automatically re-sync with your new device. This also allows you to access your chats and threads from multiple devices.




What's the difference between Chat and Threads?


Chat is for everyday messaging - the conversations that happen in real time. Use Chat for things like quick plans and check-ins. "What's going on?" "Want to grab coffee?" Threads are for messaging over time. Use threads to: - share life's best moments - keep track of important information that you'll need to get back to and - coordinate life. Threads make it easy to get back to what matters.




How do I find my friends on thready?


Create a group. Then tap on the group name at the top of the screen where you can add members. Add your friends and you should be good to go.




Where are message timestamps?


If you tap on a message, the timestamp will appear to the right of the message.




Can I delete messages?


For messages you send, you have two options: 1. you can delete the message for everyone or 2. you can delete the message just for you (in which case, the message will be removed from your device and everyone else will still be able to see the message). For messages you receive, you can delete the message just for yourself (in which case, everyone else will still be able to see the message). You can access the delete options by pressing and holding on the message.




How do I access the chat or thread info screen?


Chat Info: To access a chat info screen, open a group and then either (1) tap on the chat icon in the header navigation bar or (2) tap on the group name at the top of the screen. Thread Info: To access a thread info screen, open the applicable thread and then tap on the thread thumbnail in the header navigation bar.




How do I access message options like forward, delete and reactions?


Press and hold on the message and the options will appear.




Will thready be supported on Android and web?


This is a top priority for us. If you would like to be notified when thready is available on Android, please enter your email here.




Why threads?


We rely on messaging to stay connected with our closest friends and family. We do everything from saying hi to sharing some of life's greatest moments, but all the good stuff is jumbled with everything else and quickly gets lost in the chat history. That's why thready lets you create threads. Sharing pics of someone or something special? Use a thread to give them their own place and album. Planning a trip or event or sharing important info? Use a thread so it doesn’t get lost. Threads are quick to create and just a tap to use. And, you can still chat with no extra steps.





Threads

Who can see and interact with threads?


Everyone in the group can see and use the threads that are created in that group.




Can I add or remove a thread after a message has been sent?


You sure can. Press and hold on a message and select the Thread or Remove option. If you remove a thread from a message, the message will disappear from the thread and will appear instead on the chat screen. If you add a thread to a chat message, that message will disappear from the chat screen and appear on the thread.




How do I change a thread's name, description or appearance?


Open the chat, tap on the thread in the header and then tap on the thread again to open the Thread Info screen. You can change the wallpaper, thread type and frame from the Thread Info Screen, and you can change the name, description and thumbnail by tapping on Edit at the top right.




How do I mute a thread?


You can mute a thread from the Threads List or the Thread Info screen. To get to the Threads List, open the chat and then tap on the thready icon at the top right or swipe left. From there, slide any thread to the left to reveal the mute option. To get to the Threads Info screen, open the chat, tap on the thread in the header and then tap on the thread again. Then, tap on Notificaitons.




How do I delete a thread?


Only the person who created the thread can delete it. Open the chat, tap on the thread in the header and then tap on the thread again to open the Thread Info screen. Then select the delete option. Note that when you delete a thread, the messages themselves are not deleted and will instead appear on the chat screen.




Can I archive a thread?


Not yet...but it's on our to-do list. If you want it sooner, let us know here.




Who can edit a thread?


Anybody in the chat can edit a thread (e.g., change the color, wallpaper, frame, name, etc.). If you want the ability to control who has edit abilities, let us know here.





Groups

How can I edit a group photo or name?


Open the group chat, tap on the group name in the header and then tap on Edit at the top right. Make any desired changes and tap Save. If you're not the group super-admin, you may need the super-admin to make you an admin or to change the group settings to allow you to make the changes.




How can I add or remove a member from a Group?


Open the group chat, tap on the group name in the header and scroll down to the Members section. Note that newly added members will get access to the entire group chat and thread history, so consider whether to add them to your existing group or to create a new group instead. If you're not the group super-admin, you may need the super-admin to make you an admin or to change the group settings to allow you to make the changes.